70+ Free & Cheap NYC Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Weekend Events

Saturday, January 13

2018 Black Comic Book Festival
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Manhattan

'King in New York' Explores Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Connection to NYC (Through Friday, June 1)
Museum of the City of New York, Manhattan

'Selma' Screenings (Through Sunday, January 14)
Nitehawk Cinema, Brooklyn

2018 Live Artery (Through Monday, January 15)
New York Live Arts, Manhattan

2018 Radical Futures Free School

Best Mid-Career Survey Ever with 'It Elf' & Troll Museum Curator Reverend Jen (Through Wednesday, February 14)
MF Gallery, Brooklyn

Celebrating 25 Years of David Zwirner Gallery with Artists from Yayoi Kusama to Donald Judd (Through Saturday, February 17)

Cheap Tickets to Musical Comedy About Day Drinking + 3 Cocktails

The Hilarious True Story of One Guy Who Used Magic Mushrooms as Medicine

Brooklyn Street Art Tour

2018 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Tribute: Spirit of Hope

1/2 Price Darlene Love Concert Tickets

Sunday, January 14

50 Years After MLK: A Dream Deferred
The Apollo Theater, Manhattan

Yoga & Poetry in a Historic Library
Grand Central Library, Manhattan

Body & Soul 2018 MLK Day Eve Party
Elsewhere, Brooklyn

2018 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Tribute in Word & Song
The Riverside Church, Manhattan

2018 MLK Celebration with Fred Moten & Ruby Sales
Trinity Church, Manhattan

Wikipedia Day 2018
Ace Hotel, Manhattan

Celebrate MLK Day by Making Art

Free Night Sky Astronomy Tour

Freedom Presents: Love 2018 MLK Eve Dance Party
Ace Hotel, Manhattan

Afro-Latin Jazz Orchestra

Monday, January 15—Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

32nd Annual BAM Brooklyn Tribute to Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. with Jelani Cobb
Brooklyn Academy of Music, Brooklyn

'Selma, Lord, Selma'
Museum of the Moving Image, Queens

2018 The Fire This Time Festival with Playwrights of African Descent (Through Thursday, January 25)

Black Lives Matter Co-Founder Patrisse Cullors & 'When They Call You a Terrorist: A Black Lives Matter Memoir'
Brooklyn Academy of Music, Brooklyn

Yoga + Free Cocktails (Mondays Through February 12)

Trending: free & cheap films, concerts, Talks

Ending This Weekend

2017 Under the Radar Experimental Performance Festival (Through Monday, January 15)

$8 Tickets to New York Botanical Garden's 2017 Holiday Train Show (Through Monday, January 15)

Free & Cheap Tickets to 'Take on Me' 1980s Musical in Concert (Through Saturday, January 13)

2017 GingerBread Lane: Largest Gingerbread Village in the World (Through Monday, January 15)
New York Hall of Science, Queens

2018 First Look Festival of Experimental Films (Through Monday, January 15)
Museum of the Moving Image, Queens

Ongoing

See more ongoing & upcoming NYC events

Free Ice Skating + Skate Rental in Prospect Park (Through Sunday, March 25)

NYC Slavery & Underground Railroad Tours (Through Wednesday, May 30)

Discounted 60th Anniversary Tickets to 'Jamaica' Musical (Through Saturday, March 24)

$3 Paintball in New York (Through Sunday, July 1)

'Never Built New York'—Imaginative Buildings You've Never Seen (Through Sunday, February 18)
Queens Museum of Art, Queens

'Louise Bourgeois: An Unfolding Portrait' at the MoMA (Through Sunday, January 28)
The Museum of Modern Art, Manhattan

'Trigger: Gender as a Tool and a Trigger' (Through Sunday, January 21)
New Museum, Manhattan

'Soulful Creatures: Animal Mummies in Ancient Egypt' (Through Sunday, January 21)
Brooklyn Museum, Brooklyn

31-Foot Chihuly 'Rose Crystal Tower' Rises in Union Square (Through October 2018)
Union Square Park, Manhattan

'Beyond Suffrage: A Century of New York Women in Politics' (Through Sunday, July 22)
Museum of the City of New York, Manhattan

Ai Weiwei's City-Wide Exhibition 'Good Fences Make Good Neighbors' (Through Sunday, February 11)

Cheap Tickets to 'This One's For The Girls' Female Empowerment Off-Broadway Musical (Through Saturday, February 24)

Explore the Making of Judy's Chicago's Renowned Feminist Work 'The Dinner Party' (Through Sunday, March 4)
Brooklyn Museum, Brooklyn

Go Skating Amongst Skyscrapers in Bryant Park (Through Sunday, March 4)
Bryant Park, Manhattan

Discounted Skating + Skate Rental at Chelsea Piers (Through Friday, February 23)

Greenwich Village Haunted Walking Tours (Through Sunday, December 30)

Discounted Tickets to See Large Exhibit of Vintage Trains & Other Toys (Through Sunday, February 25)

Michelangelo at the Met (Through Monday, February 12)
The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Manhattan

'Edvard Munch: Between the Clock and the Bed' Includes Self-Portraits Never Seen in the US Before (Through Sunday, February 4)
The Met Breuer, Manhattan

Free 2017 NYC Holiday Train Show (Through Sunday, February 4)
Grand Central Terminal, Manhattan

Minimalistic 'Whiteout' Installation Illuminates Mad Sq. Park (Through Sunday, March 25)
Madison Square Park, Manhattan

'Mod New York: Fashion Takes a Trip' (Through Sunday, April 1)
Museum of the City of New York, Manhattan

'Art in the Open: Fifty Years of Public Art in New York' (Through Sunday, May 13)
Museum of the City of New York, Manhattan

Free Winter Admission to Brooklyn Botanic Garden (Weekdays Through February 28)
Brooklyn Botanic Garden, Brooklyn

Sea of Light 2017: Interactive Light Art at the Seaport (Through March)
Front St. & Fulton St., Manhattan

Free Admission to Museum of the City of New York (Through Saturday, June 30)

Discounted Tickets to 'Gulliver's Gate' Mini City Exhibition (Through Saturday, March 31)

'New York on Ice: Skating in the City' (Through Sunday, April 15)
Museum of the City of New York, Manhattan

2018 Exponential Arts Festival (Through Wednesday, January 31)

2018 STEM Theatre Fest (Through Sunday, January 21)

400+ Outstanding Illustrations Used in Advertising (Through Saturday, January 27)
Society of Illustrators, Manhattan

2018 PROTOTYPE Festival of Opera & Musical Theatre (Through Saturday, January 20)

2018 American Realness Performance Festival (Through Tuesday, January 16)

2018 COIL Performing Arts Festival (Through Sunday, February 4)

2018 New York Jewish Film Festival (Through Tuesday, January 23)
Lincoln Center, Manhattan

2018 NYC Winter Jazzfest with 600+ Musicians, Star-Studded Concerts & Talks (Through Wednesday, January 17)

Subscribe to our free daily e-newsletter or follow us on Twitter or Instagram.