Monday, August 29: MJ Birthday, Rooftop Yoga, Anniversary of the Internet + 55 More

City Hall Train

Photo: @ayindestevens | Follow @niftynyc & tag your photos with #niftynyc for a chance to be featured

Today’s Events

Watch the US Open on a Manhattan Rooftop (Through Sunday, September 11)

Rooftop Farm Yoga with Amazing Skyline Views (Mondays Through September 26)

'The Lobster' Screening

Celebrate the Anniversary of the Internet with the Brooklyn Cyclones

Michael Jackson's Jazz Birthday Celebration

Free Film: 'The Pope of Greenwich Village'

See free & cheap NYC events for tomorrow, Tuesday, August 30 (more added later today).

Trending: free films, concerts, fitness & wellness classes

Ending Today

Bushwick & Williamsburg Street Art Tours (Mondays Through August 29)

Free Yoga on the Beach (Mondays Through August 29)

Free Italian, Portuguese & Japanese Language Classes (Mondays Through August 29)

Wine & Chocolate Pairing Tours (Through Monday, August 29)

Ongoing

See more ongoing & upcoming NYC events

Free Admission to the Museum of the City of New York + Free Breakfast

Staten Island Unlimited 2016 Photography Triennial (Through Wednesday, August 31)

'Wanderlust' on the High Line Explores Journeys We Make (Through March 2017)

'Disguise: Masks and Global African Art' at Brooklyn Museum (Through Sunday, September 18)

A 'Psycho'-Inspired House Perches on the Met's Rooftop Garden (Through Monday, October 31)

Free Weekday Piano Concerts in Bryant Park

Manus x Machina: Fashion In the Age of Technology (Through Monday, September 2)

FLOW.16 Exhibition + Free Tours (Through Saturday, October 29)

40-Foot 'Big Bling' Sculpture Inhabits Madison Sq. Park (Through Sunday, January 8)

'Uniformity' Uniform Exhibit at the Museum at FIT (Through Saturday, November 19)

Classic Arcade Games on Display at MoMI (Through Sunday, October 9)

SONIC CITY: New York's Innovative Musical Instrument Makers (Through Sunday, September 18)

$12 Speedboat Rides in New York Harbor (Through Labor Day)

Free NYC Beaches Are Open in Every Borough

Free Places to BBQ in All Five Boroughs

Free Public Kayaking in Manhattan

Governors Island is Open for 2016 with Even More to See (Through Sunday, September 25)

Jeffrey Deitch-Curated Murals on Display at Coney Island

Free Mini Golf on Governors Island

Discounted Admission to the Museum of Sex

'Alexander Hamilton: Striver, Statesman, Scoundrel' (Through Saturday, December 31)

Free Outdoor Pools in All 5 Boroughs

Cheap NYC Street Art Walking Tours (Through Sunday, October 23)

See Katharina Grosse's Colorful Transformation of a Ft. Tilden Building (Through Wednesday, November 30)

Free Statue of Liberty Cruises (Through Wednesday, August 31)

'diane arbus: in the beginning' Features Never-Before-Seen Photographs (Through Sunday, November 27)

Influence of the AIDS Crisis on American Art (Through Sunday, September 25)

The Sharing Movement's Impact on NYC's Future (Through Friday, September 2)

'The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe' Off-Broadway (Through Wednesday, August 31)

Free Brooklyn Sights & Landmarks Cruises (Through Wednesday, August 31)

Super Cheap Roller Skating in Prospect Park (Through Friday, September 30)

Museum of Ice Cream is a Wonka-Like Wonderland with Edible Balloons & a Sprinkle Pool (Through Wednesday, August 31)

2016 Caribbean Jerk & Reggae Fest (Through Saturday, September 3)

Cutting Edge Playhouse: Emerging Playwrights Competition (Through Sunday, September 4)

Double Feature Screenings with Films From Hollywood's Golden Age (Through Tuesday, September 13)

Failure, Imperfection & Destruction at Flux Factory (Through Sunday, September 11)

Free Hudson & East River Cruises (Through Wednesday, August 31)

'50s Production of 'The Taming of the Shrew' in Central Park (Through Sunday, September 4)

2016 Met Opera Summer HD Festival (Through Monday, September 5)

MGM Musicals at BAM (Through Wednesday, September 21)

2016 Dream Up Theatre Festival (Through Sunday, September 18)

Subscribe to our free daily e-newsletter or follow us on Twitter or Instagram.